Sunday, February 22, 2009

Love letter blogging

February 21st is a very special day for Abigail and I because it marks the day we began our courtship. We actually met in 2003 but it wasn't until she was about to leave for Turkey and I realized I might never see her again that I realized I had already had feelings for her and didn't want her to go all the way around the world without telling her. So we were at this party and I snuck into another room, wrote her a poem, gave it to her, and left...yeah. The sequence of events afterward is a little fuzzy but somehow we ended up chatting online while she was away so my scheme worked. I did the proper thing and actually asked her dad's permission to write her, though (yep, that's how they roll).

Naturally when she got back I also had to get her dad's permission to date her and the week of Valentine's day 2004 he actually said "no." Her parents wanted me to read two books that they felt would explain their perspective on what Christian courtship is, so I read them as promised and on February 21st Abigail and I began our relationship with our first date... a Civil War Re-Enactment Ball! Here is a picture of us below, isn't she cute and such?
I was very much outnumbered as a Rebel, BTW...

Anyway, obviously our relationship and our love has continued on and grown since then. We got the opportunity to go to some classes together at MCC which was fun, and then our paths diverged as she started on her way to being a nurse type person.

Our anniversary in 2006 was especially special, as that was the night I proposed. We took the Dolly Steamboat cruise out (well worth it just for the view let alone the food, by the way) and I proposed right there at the table. No, I didn't get down on one knee; we were on a boat and neither of us wanted the attention. The only downside is Abigail was totally expecting it, but on the other hand it was a lot of fun!

Since we got married, February 21 has been more of our inside joke and our alternative to Valentine's Day, which neither of us really believes too much in. I am thankful that Abigail's parents showed her by example to believe that romance should be all year and should not be mandated by a greeting card company. We have a new anniversary to celebrate (October 21) now, and the past two years we have done it in style. Still, I am the nostalgic type and don't wish to give up on a special day.

Unfortunately this year it fell on a day where my poor wife was exhausted and was ready to go to bed as soon as she came home from school. I had friends over for the evening and was so wrapped up in that that I forgot the day. It's possible she did too; as I said it's not a huge day for us anymore and we didn't have anything scheduled. Still I feel bad for not at least acknowledging it, and thus I am writing this blog entry. I know Abigail reads this as does Andrew...and that's about it, but I hope someone does. :-)

So, here is the titular love letter, and I don't care who else reads it!

To my favorite wife,
I love you, and I am so proud of you and the person you are. You are a beautiful, wonderful woman who adds a great deal to the world around her. Some day you're going to be a fantastic mom, too, and I can't wait to be there to see it. It is inspiring to see someone who is so in touch with what she wants for her future, and I am honored to be able to support you in at least some way in your goals.
If you're ever feeling impatient (not that it ever happens, but should it), please remember that we had to have February 21st in order to get to October 21st. That's why I still like to remember it every year; it was a good day for me.

Tentatively we're doing something Saturday after she gets out of school; we'll see how she feels I guess. She's been really tired the past two times after school that I am reserving hope until, well, Saturday. Even then it wouldn't be able to be really late since she works Sunday morning and I have to do the sound booth for church at 8 AM. Yay... fun times.

I remember that seminar the college (for nursing school) had all the spouses or whomever go to right before Block 1 where they basically explained how they next two years will suck. As in a good chuck of the first two years of our marriage... yay! We've had some stress, some tension but only during tense times. These are tense times for everyone in our country and heck, our world right now, and I bet a lot of marriages are being tested, but ours is working.

Thus, in conclusion, I love my wife very much, and some day I hope to have lots of money to buy her a very large mansion or at least a nicer car to drive her by one. I would bet all of Andrew's money she feels similarly about me. ;-)

I love you Meg!

~Scott

Wednesday, February 18, 2009

Yay for President's Day!

Sooo, time flies when you're (mostly) having fun! Monday was great first and foremost because I got to sleep in for a change (first day since Saturday the 7th I'd gotten to do that for various reasons). Abigail and I had breakfast together, then my dad and Susan came to my place. At that point the girls went shopping and to a movie and my dad and I hung out for a while, eventually to be joined by Andrew, then Travis. We had originally planned on going to the driving range that day, but I was sore from sledding the day before and Andrew was tired from being up all morning waiting to get a seat to see President Obama speak on Wednesday (today).

So instead, we got Weinerschnitzel for lunch (one of my favorites!) and played Rock Band. We briefly played Halo, then played Ghost Recon for the remaining time until the girls returned, and my dad and Susan left soon after that. We then ordered Pizza Hut and Travis' wife Kim joined us while we played Rock band again.

I made the mistake at that point of confessing that I had started a new band at the beginning of the day to protect the score of my own band (which is pretty decently high since Rock Band 2 allows you to play through Tour mode by yourself). I think I half offended half amused everyone, but since I did have some amatuers with me (especially my dad) I felt justified. I didn't want to worry about my score; I just wanted to have fun! It turned out to be a good thing as I got at least three Achievements that day. Go me!

I had hoped to write on Monday but alas (or not), there was no time! This weekend was a great stress reliever and a whole lot of fun. Thanks go out to all of my friends who spent time with me as well as my parents, Abigail's parents, and of course Abigail herself. Special shout out to Susan for going to the movies with Abigail, she needed a break!

Sunday, February 15, 2009

Snow Day

I actually have a decent amount to write about, but one quick entry is all I have the time or energy for at the moment. It's been a busy weekend so far, and thankfully I have Monday (President's Day) off! Yay!!!

Yesterday was fun. We went to the VNSA book sale (a big annual event) out in Phoenix where I spent a surprisingly reasonable amount of money on books; my forgotten neglected love. My parents, my friend Andrew, my sister Susan, and her friend all went (although we split up upon arrival for convenience) and much fun was had. That night my in laws came over and my father in law (Al) helped me with a few household projects (such as repairing the doorbell) before my mother in law (Dianna) arrived with their Christmas present to each other: a Wii.

We played it for some time. Video game connoisseur that I am it was the first time I had ever played one and I enjoyed it immensely. They decided to leave it with me for a while since they will be busy for at least a couple of days anyway, which I had no problem with at all.

So today I went with my friends Travis and Kim and their little niece Riley so the littlest one could see snow for the first time. It was fun to do something totally random and fun for a change although I know it probably disappointed my dad that I wasn't in church today. Today is one year since my grandfather's death, but I did at least give him (my dad) the message I wouldn't be coming. I promised to say a special prayer that day, although I said it for my dad and not for my grandfather as I think my dad had meant. My dad's beliefs are definitely an amalgam of his Catholic upbringing and our current church, but I think the important thing is his heart is in the right place.

Anyway, we hit the road about 9:45 or so (after some delays not worth mentioning) and eventually stopped for the snow outside of the Pine-Strawberry area on the Pine trailhead, which was nice because it was safe. You can find the pictures on my Picasa page here: http://picasaweb.google.com/rainchaserknight. It's the new album called "Snow Day." We had a lot of fun overall and I am so glad Travis invited me. It made me realize I need to do more things like that; I used to have a lot more fun when I was random. As I've grown older I've gotten a lot more structured and afraid and that's made me a lot more unhappy. I think I need to work on that.

We stopped in Payson on the way back and saw Travis' grandparents. Considering what day it is for me that made me a little sad but I didn't say anything. I never had much of a relationship with my mom's father or any relationship with her mother (she died before my time), and my relationship with my father's parents (it being his dad in question) is similar, although I did know them better. His dad did at least get to come to my wedding before he died, which was very pleasing. When I can find a picture I will put one up under the family album on Picasa. Anyway, Abigail and Matt and Travis all still have living grand parents (Andrew too, actually) that they have a relationship with, and that's something I am jealous of. Barring something horrible my children will get to have that and I am very grateful, but sad because that's something I missed out on.

Wow, this turned out to be longer than I thought! Anyway, hope to have more time tomorrow; I have a bit more to write about. Friday was kind of interesting as well, and I've just had some things on my mind I'd like to get down here. Hope all is well with you, and that someone out there is reading this.

All the best,

-Scott

Saturday, January 31, 2009

I have done something different today!

So last night after work a bunch of people came over (specifcally Travis, Kim, Matt, Angela, and Andrew) to play Rock Band which was naturally fun times. We also played a little golf as well after Matt and Angela left. Abigail was upstairs studying, sadly. However, when everyone had gone, Andrew invited me to go hiking/geocaching with him the next day (today). Although I was hesitant about the prospect of getting up early on a Saturday I accepted.

We journeyed up Usury Pass Mountain around 10 AM (after stopping at Bashas' and Dunkin Donuts). It was an epic quest from the beginning, and we knew we had quite a feat ahead of us. We took frequent breaks and paced ourselves, which made it rather pleasant...you know, except for the pain and the parts where I thought I was going to die. Like the time I almost fell off the mountain and Andrew had to grab me by my shirt (he was going for the belt, in his defense).

(slightly melodramatic narration begins)

Eventually we made it up to the Wind Caves (which seriously sounds like a destination from an RPG to me), which is nearly to the summit, and that is where we had lunch. Good times. We got to sit and enjoy the view from there and relax for about half an hour before continuing on. At this point I thought we had undergone an ordeal but no; the most arduous part of all was yet to come! For as we continued on our quest to reach the summit we passed a sign that read, "Dangerous Area: Proceed At Your Own Risk!" We were indeed forewarned by this sign and although we were but novice hikers we were convinced that our will, our spirits, and our courage would get us to the top (along with our legs, of course).

We proceeded on, and immediately the trail was much harder to read and much narrower. The cliff face seemed much nearer, and there were times my life flashed before my eyes. I felt like Dante making his epic journey in some way, with Andrew as my Vergil (although we were ascending, which was somewhat anachronistic). We continued onward for another hour, managing to lose our way off the trail twice.

Finally we managed to make our way up to the top (nearly 3200 feet up) and to the area where the geocache was! It was a moment of great celebration. We took a while to rest and took some photos (which will eventually find their way on here, I assure you) before finally heading back down. Naturally heading back down was much faster, and the total trek downward was only an hour or so in itself!

(slightly melodramatic narration ends)

Along the way Andrew found a second geocache that we had passed on the way up (which I think turned out to be a good thing considering how much foot traffic there was during the earlier time). Apparently you're not supposed to let them get discovered by people who aren't part of the game for risk of them getting destroyed, so that could have been bad if we'd found it before.

We got back to the car at about 4 PM, which made our total outing about 6 hours long. Thus our epic quest was completed! We stopped at a Bashas' on the way back to my house for extra water as while we had brought quite a lot, we went through it all in 6 hours and were quite thirsty by that point.

Speaking of which, I am going to go as it's now after midnight and I'm rather tired and sore. Next time I see you, Andrew, you're in SO much trouble for suggesting that! More later, hopefully with pics.

Friday, January 23, 2009

Picking up where I left odd...

No, that wasn't a typo in the title, it was a well-designed pun. I'm so clever, sometimes I only SEEM dumb. Then I do a brain ninja like thing on you and you only realize it later. Example: earlier I said our really old industrial shredder (which stands about 3.5' tall) wasn't actually a shredder, but had a miniature Viking inside that we fed paper. "Vikings," I said," are actually more eco-friendly people than we give them credit for. That's why they created Greenland." Think about it.

So, some things are the same since I last wrote, I think. I'm trying out a gluten-free diet to the best of my ability and am trying my best to diet overall. It must be working; yesterday I weighed in at 238! That's 16 pounds less than 9/29 without trying very hard for most of that period (and I know it went up during that time). And no... I'm not trying to become a model or anything. I just want to fit into my Halo 2 t-shirt.

My friend Travis and his wife Kim are here to stay, having moved from New Hampshire for Christmas! Yay!!! It was all a big conspiracy; they sprung it on their family after they got here and on us the day after Christmas (when we were all assembled together). Sadly, when their stuff finally arrived here a month later (SUPER late, as I understand it), much was broken. Hope it all works out, guys!

What else... we still haven't gotten a house yet. If I haven't posted about that before, by the way we're trying to buy a house (I assume you read my wife's blog anyway if you read mine). We've been trying for some time now; I imagine our poor realtor will be very happy to be rid of us! We got close one time but the bank was playing hardball with us and something about the area didn't sit right so we decided not to go with it. Otherwise we've had a lot of near misses. Our friends Matt and Angela got one the first weekend they went out...but it does have termites. That sucks.

Sorry for the absence, by the way, my computer has been down for most of this period and I haven't been motivated enough to wrest my wife's away from her when I have the time to do an entry. She has claws... Anyway, I have Dynasty Warriors, Rock Band, and other things ( mostly like looking for houses and work) to keep me busy lately. My brother was finally able to bring me back Star Wars TFU, so I played it again...and promptly deleted my saved game and uber leveled up character. Scott was unhappy. I did discover downloadable content with a new level that looks interesting, so hopefully I get to play it this weekend.

Finally got to have dinner/coffee with my friend Katrina, who had moved here...um...a few months ago. Yeah, it's not easy to get together with me. Ask Andrew, he'll tell ya. After that I got to go on a diaper-purchasing adventure. Lesson learned: the boxes for wipies and diapers look similar. Probably should take one's time a bit on that aisle. Speaking of Andrew, I also got to have dinner with him, and once a month is not enough, mein freund. We shall do this again, sir, and there shall be much rejoicing in the land.

Got to see the Cardinals win the championship game to be eligible for the Super Bowl in a couple of weeks, which was exciting. I'm not really into football, as you know, but it was fun watching it with my dad and my friends. I'm expected at Travis' parents' house for the Super Bowl as his mom is an ardent Steeler's fan and his dad is a Cards fan so it will be advantageous not to sit in the middle. :-)

Other than that I can't think of anything more. Hopefully once the house thing gets done stress levels will be reduced a bit in our household and we can move on to something else. I'd like to get started again on school before too long here, of course, and I'm bemused to actually find myself missing it. I guess after so many years of being a student it just gets under your skin; I don't know.

Next post will not be so delayed, I hope!

Friday, December 12, 2008

Fun times today

So I like hockey. I didn't really know that until this year, but apparently I do. It's one of the few sports games I'm actually decent at (I've even played it in real life, although I meant I'm decent on X Box). Matt and I went to our second game together this season (the first was actually preseason), and both our third total, again since preseason (whatever).

We actually bought a package of four games (the Coyotes Howliday pack), and the sales rep gave us his personal tickets for tonight that included access to the swank Comerica club up on the middle level. It was awesome. We got the buffet and ate through the pre game/first period (including dessert), and then sat in our really great seats for the remaining two periods. It ended up being a really good game, too, which the Coyotes won. Good times.

It's kinda cool to have different interests now than I had when I was younger, and I think my dad would have been impressed that I not only actually watched the game, but that I was actually carrying on an intelligent sports-related conversation. Not to say that I've made any major life change overall (I'm still a nerd), but it's fun to actually be present at these events instead of feeling like a complete idiot.

Anyway, more later!

Thursday, December 11, 2008

Hard day at the job...

As I have said before, normally I don't care for my job. It's not really my cup of tea, and on a good day it can be boring. Not that I'm not grateful for it, and I definitely have learned from it, but I would not choose this as my lifetime career.
However, there are definitely some days that are better than others and yesterday was one of them. It was a very normal day up until lunch, but when Nate and I got back, my boss said we could spend the rest of our day building the gingerbreadhouse for our department's entry into the hotel-wide gingerbread house contest. w00t.
Here is a picture of the beginning.

We had a lot of ideas, so my boss went out to a few stores and bought some supplies-mostly candy. Nate and I did all the grunt work, but it was good times nonetheless, I must say.

It took us about 3.5 hours or so (not including clean up), and this was the end result:

The house from one side...
And from the other!
A close up of our diverse snowman...oy.
My one worry is that they made a "Home Forclosure" sign and put it next to the (chocolate colored) snowman, and since this is going to be judged by our guests, I hope no one gets offended. Not that I'll get in trouble or anything, but I would hate for something to ruin their impression of the hotel. OH well, it's not my problem.
Still, it was fun times, and it gave me an excuse to take all the stuff off my desk and scrub it with cleaner, which I haven't done in about a year or so. Seriously needed. Blech. It's not like I'm a neat freak, but you should have seen how much dust can accumulate behind a monitor in one year! Not to mention all the rubber bands Nate appears to have shot at me when I wasn't looking. Hmmm...